Friday, June 15, 2018

BLOG TOUR: The Cottages on Silver Beach (Review)





Years after betraying her, he’s back in Haven Point…and ready to learn the truth

Megan Hamilton never really liked Elliot Bailey. He turned his back on her family when they needed him the most and it almost tore them all apart. So she’s shocked when Elliot arrives at her family’s inn, needing a place to stay and asking questions that dredge up the past. Megan will rent him a cottage, but that’s where it ends—no matter how gorgeous Elliot has become.



Coming back home to Haven Point was the last thing bestselling writer Elliot Bailey thought he’d ever do. But the book he’s writing now is his most personal one yet and it’s drawn him back to the woman he can’t get out of his mind. Seeing Megan again is harder than he expected and it brings up feelings he’d thought were long buried. Could this be his chance to win over his first love?
The Cottages on Silver Beach
Haven Point #8
RaeAnne Thayne
Pub Date: 6/19/18
HQN Books
Rating: 4/5
Amazon | B&N | Kobo


RaeAnne Thayne continues to invite readers to cozy Haven Point where the people are real and their lives are constantly expanding in family and love. I jumped into the series at book five, Snowfall on Haven Point, and haven't looked back since!

Megan Hamilton, owner of the Inn at Haven Point, finally confronts the brother of her dead boyfriend, Elliot Bailey. FBI agent and successful author of crime thrillers, Elliot once stood against his best friend, and Megan's brother Luke, during an investigation when his wife disappeared mysteriously. The suspicion in the aftermath continues to plague Luke and it may spiral out of control if Elliot decides to dig into the case. Megan comes to realize that there's more to Elliot than the robotic law enforcement agent persona he dons around her when he convinces her that knowing the truth could set her family free.

Each time I open up a Haven Point novel I kind of know what to expect. So far in the series each character has a dream they're working towards and an emotional set back. Along the way they might clash heads with a romantic interest that eventually provides a shoulder to lean on or opens their eyes to a truth hidden just below the surface. The set up is always different, but the endgame is more or less the same. I'm waiting for the one storyline that takes me by complete surprise whether from the character type or overall theme of the novel. It came pretty close in The Cottages on Silver Beach with the fiery dynamic between Megan and Elliot. They weren't overly friendly with each other initially and when it was awkward between them I could feel it radiate from the pages. I liked seeing them discover things about each other that they were previously ignorant of because it showed the progression of their relationship. There was tension that stemmed from an active cold case involving Megan's sister-in-law. I'd definitely be interested in Luke's story, because I just can't pass up a mystery like that!

The Cottages on Silver Beach gives readers a little mystery heavily dosed with sizzling romance. Don't miss the next Haven Point novel, perfect for fans of Brenda Novak and Jen Gilroy!
*ARC provided in consideration for review*

Take a vacation in Haven Point!

Reactions:

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for visiting! I appreciate any feedback and all comments!